Timeline - Key Events of the French Revolution

(1789-1794)

Over four years after the start of the French Revolution, France descended into a period commonly known as the "Reign of Terror," when over 16,000 people were executed for allegedly opposing the Revolution. The Reign of Terror began when the Committee of Public Safety took over the National Convention, the third government that had been established since the start of the French Revolution. The timeline below lists the governments and major reforms that were established under each.

Name of Government	Year	Reforms
National Assembly	1789	Storming of the Bastille
		End of feudalism
		Declaration of the Rights of Man and Citizen
Legislative Assembly	1791	Constitutional monarchy with king as symbolic ruler
	1.1.1700	Property requirements for voting
	July 1792	Prussia and Austria begin invading France
National Convention	Sept. 1792	Jacobins take control
		Constitutional monarchy abolished
		France becomes a republic with universal suffrage
	January 1793	King Louis XVI executed
Committee of Public Safety takes over the National Convention	July 1793	Decree Against Profiteers (Document A)
	September 1793	Law of Suspects (Document B)
_	July 1794	Robespierre, leader of the Reign of Terror, executed
		Reign of Terror ends

Reign of Terror